Award-winning Work

CHANTILLY, Va. – The Heavy Duty Remanufacturing Group (HDRG) of the Automotive Parts Remanufacturers Association (APRA) has awarded Electronics Remanufacturing Co. LLC (ERC) of Walled Lake, Mich., its prestigious “Mike Hill Heavy Duty Remanufacturer of the Year Award.”

The award, presented Jan. 21 during the HDRG Remanufacturing Summit, is given to a company or individual who has demonstrated innovative ways to create and grow a successful business model and, in the process, supported industry efforts to advance the science of remanufacturing.

According to Bill Gager, president of APRA/HDRG, the panel’s decision to award ERC with this year’s award was because of the path the company has pioneered for electronics remanufacturing in the commercial vehicle market. ERC’s board is made up of seasoned commercial vehicle industry veterans: Jim Morrow (CEO), former president of Detroit Diesel; Russ Schinzing (president), former GM of Detroit Diesel Remanufacturing Electronics Division; and Warren Klein, former owner of Transaxle.

ERC was recently awarded the 2012 North American Company of the Year Award in the Remanufacturing Electronics market by Frost & Sullivan.

ERC has been a member of APRA and its HDRG Division since its inception in 2010.

Schinzing accepted the award from Sandra Standley, HDRG chairman. ERC became the sixth recipient of this award, joining past recipients Precision Rebuilders (St. Clair, Mo.), Weller Truck Parts (Grand Rapids, Mich.), ArvinMeritor (Plainfield, Ind.), Camerota Truck Parts (Enfield, Conn.) and TransAxle (Cinnaminson, N.J.).

Standley stated, “Having ERC receive this award is a fitting tribute for a company that has helped many remanufacturers understand the opportunities in electronics and mechantronics.”